Pictorial blethers

By blethers

Caterpillars innumerable

Many years ago, when I was in my early twenties, we spent a week in the Cathedral of The Isles, Cumbrae, singing Evensong with our quartet, the St Maura Singers. I shall never forget the night the set psalm was Psalm 105. (At that time, the heathen that I was didn't really know many psalms). When it came to chanting this verse the soprano and I corpsed:
He spake the word, and the grasshoppers came, and caterpillars innumerable : and did eat up all the grass in their land, and devoured the fruit of their ground.

This evening, returning home after an early evening walk, I caught sight of this poor leaf on our Kilmarnock Willow, and couldn't help laughing at the memory of my voice wobbling and trembling with mirth as I tried to keep up a sort of angelic piping.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.