merlbec

By merlbec

Warming up.

OK fellow blippers, I'm back! Whilst not blipping regularly, due to working long hours, I've still had the cameras out a few times. So here's a back-blip to warm up on... To go with these.

Out and about midwinter in Glebe (Sydney), I spotted some quince in a shop and on impulse decided to buy. Having never cooked them before, and not really being a cook as such, some research ensued (too much, probably, as is my wont).

Made on the Winter Solstice, rather time-consuming to prepare, a bit messy, but oh what a glorious result! They start out all pale yellow and insipid-looking and end up like this - all rosy and glossy. And delish!

Most recipes, including this one, involve large quantities of sugar, although I did find a savoury recipe with onions, to go with lamb. Cooked that a week or so later and it was a great success too.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.