Crazy Overstuffed Life

By Allison

Weiwei installation at Nathan Phillips Square

It is still incredibly hot in Toronto and environs.

Walking back from my long awaited headache appointment, I spotted an installation in the pond (in wintertime, the skating pond, as shown here) by Chinese contemporary artist Ai Weiwei. The installation is called Circle of Animals/Zodiac Heads, and there are, accordingly, twelve of these bronze animal heads. More about Weiwei and the installation here.

This is obviously the rooster.

With this post, I note that I am 79 days short of where I "should" be if I had not taken one long and a few shorter "breaks" in daily blip. My first blip was on July 19, 2012, a year ago tomorrow. My law partner had just returned from his final trip of an 11 month period where he split his time between Toronto and Paris. Until then, my visits to blipfoto had been exclusively for the purpose of viewing my friend MI's (spouse of my law partner) daily photos from Paris as I followed their daily lives and passed a small part of the lonely intervals in the office. Posting my own first blip was a bit of a spontaneous thing, but I kept it up until February when the "crazy overstuffed life" got a bit too overwhelming and daily blipping was another source of stress instead of a fun outlet.

The year has been a mixed bag. Some good times, some bitter disappointments. I would have hoped a year ago to be doing a lot better on many fronts than I am, but c'est la vie. Blip has been mostly fun, and I'm surprised to have a few loyal subscribers who follow my day to day life through these highly unprofessional photos I grab of it.

I think I will probably keep on going for at least another 79 blips - which will likely be more than 79 days...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.