Jeanettie6

By Jeanettie6

Today I returned to Birmingham for the day, then on to Great Malvern again and managed to survive a very hot climb up the Malvern Hills!

I'd decided to just take my tiny camera with me in my backpack, as they other one was a bit too heavy, but popped into Next in Birmingham, as I needed some new sunglasses and ended up buying a pair of half price winter boots too in the sale, which I then had to carry up the hills with me! (I realised after, that there was probably a 'left luggage' place at New Street Station)

Here you can see the Beacon, which is 1,395 ft, the highest point of the hills and my 'helpers'..water and a couple of Jelly Baby guys from a packet (I remember reading that Jelly Babies were good for energy...quite horrible though...but I still managed to eat the whole packet, horrible or not!) who helped me up there in the heat.

I was actually quite scared at one point up there. It was extremely hot and still, until suddenly, from nowhere, it became extremely windy and I saw dust whirling up like a very tiny tornado and spinning it's way across the path and down the hill! I've never seen anything like that before and just looked it up on Wikipedia and think that it might have been a 'Dust Devil' whirlwind. It was only there for about a minute, then gone and back to no wind at all...but actually made me shake...I think I had visions of it developing into a full grown twister and sweeping me off the hills! (now that n would have made an interesting blip!) There was nobody else up there either at that point to see it either.

Apart from the spooky whirlwind (or whatever it was) I had a lovely, peaceful day up there!

I'm sorry, I'm behind again with commenting/looking, but will catch up soon!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.