The Speed of Light

By MartyMcG

Dans Le Noir

Another scorcher in London today - so I headed for the Tube. It was as horrific as you can imagine! After my appointments in Islington I decided to take my chances walking in the 30 deg heat of the London streets for 2 miles. It was infinitely easier than a 40 deg scrum on the Northern Line!

In the evening I went to a restaurant called Dans Le Noir. So the concept is that you eat in complete darkness - you can't see your food so you end up having a heightened dining experience through your other senses. And when I say "complete darkness" I mean - you can't see a single thing. No faint outlines - no night-vision kicking in - no glowing mobile phones. And to add to the experience, all the waiting staff are blind - so you are completely in their world (well, for an hour at least). It was expensive, but one of the most memorable dining experiences I have ever had - and a pretty humbling one too - this should be on everyone's "to do" list.

No phones allowed in Dans Le Noir so you will have to settle for my iPhone shot of St Paul's Cathedral which I took on the way bacl to my hotel.


Copyright © 2013 Martin McGougan. All rights reserved.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.