pocketfullononsense

By dunkyc

She is gone

It was my Nan's funeral today.

She was a self confessed sun-worshipper, so it seemed only fitting that we should send her off on a roasting hot day with nary a cloud in the sky.

It was a lovely service and well attended by friends & family. There can't be too many ceremonies that finish up with Shirley Bassey's 'Big Spender' playing people out!

I read a poem entitled 'She is Gone' which apparently is becoming renown at funerals, but regardless I don't think the sentiment is diminished.

The rest of the day has been spent catching up with seldom seen family members, sharing memories and finally enjoying watching m'boy have his first splash about in a paddling pool.

I had a bit of time this evening, so I ventured into mum's garden to see what treasures my macro lens and I could unearth.

There were a few options, but I plumped for this little character.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.