Mikey88

By Mikey88

It's my daughter's birthday today. She's nineteen. Normally, we would go out for a meal, but she has a ballet exam next week and needed to go to this evening's lesson, so no meal. However, she does love Kentucky Fried Chicken and as we don't have it very often, it's still quite a treat.

She went off to her ballet lesson, and at about ten past eight, I went off to KFC. The sun was going down nicely at this point, and there was a promising light. I began to think about my blip. I'd put my camera bag in the car, and I thought, "I'll take a picture of the KFC restaurant. That will fit in with today's main event." So I did that.

After waiting in the queue for about half an hour and getting served, I came out to see the sun as a red ball on the horizon. I dumped the KFC into the car, put on the telephoto and got some shots of it as it went behind some of the units on the industriasl estate. "Great," I thought. "That's my blip sorted for tonight."

I jumped back in the car and headed for home. As I came off the main road and onto the moor, I noticed the sun again - behind some trees. As I drove down the hill, I kept an eye on the sun, spotted a gap in the trees and thought if I pulled into the next car park, I might get a picture. On went the telephoto, and there was the sun, a huge red ball, just above the horizon and nestled nicely between the trees in the foreground.

Several shots later, back into the car, drive the rest of the way home and ate the KFC with a good film, with a little birthday cake for the birthday girl. And still a meal to go out for when we have more time!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.