OlyShipp

By OlyShipp

Alien

I get the bus back to Oxford every other Thursday from a stop by Grosvenor Gardens, next to Victoria station in London.

But something rather different caught my eye this evening - this monumental bronze sculpture had landed in right in the middle of the gardens!

It reminds me a bit of the Headington shark, which appears to crash through the roof of an ordinary terraced house on the outskirts of Oxford (to be blipped later this year!), and its relation, the inflatable-looking legs on the roof of Brighton's Duke of York's cinema.

These turn out to have been sculpted by David Breuer-Weil, who tells a good story about its meaning, and who said "I love the idea of the shock of an alien landing in the heart of London and taking everybody by surprise. Every new work of art should be like an alien landing, something sudden and unexpected".

It certainly took me by surprise!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.