meayrs

By meayrs

July 2013 #19

There used to be lots of pubs in Longsight, but with changed ethnicity it's hard to find one. I needed a refreshing drink as it has been so hot and dropped into a drinking establishment and while enjoying my pint saw this old darts board.

Doesn't look as if anyone has used it for a long time, but it set me thinking and remembering. What little mathematical agility I have comes from darts, where you have to learn to sum up multiples of the umbers one to twenty and subtract them from a diminishing total. 'Finishing' requires both throwing and maths skills, as you need to end up with specific numbers.

The 19 is strategically important in darts. A triple 20 will alwys give you an even number, 60, whereas triple 19 gives the largest possible odd number, 57. So I give you today number #19 as my daily number blip.

[Levenshulme, Manchester, UK

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.