misswinterfinch

By misswinterfinch

Got Slugs?

I expected to blip another interesting flower today...
And since the weather has become hellishly unseasonably hot (101ºF 38ºC today) I have assumed the slugs are baked for now.
Well, what should I see early this a.m while relaxing in the living room with a nice cup of coffee before breakfast? This big fat slug up on the millet birdseed feeder. The birds never approach this bell-shaped seed thing.
Now how did the slug get all the way up the pole to the net feeder? It is not under a tree or near a shrub. It is under the eaves of the roof. But we are having loads of humidity. In fact, yesterday, without a cloud in the sky, we experienced a burst of rain. The humidity went above the 100% level and simply burst into showers so it could return to 100%. Is it raining slugs too? Next week we are supposed to return to a normal summer temperature and dryness... I hope so because this slug thing is creepy.
The farmers say this is the kind of weather that grows the corn... and slugs?
At least I got my blip in before 7:30!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.