Nothing happens here...

By StuartDB

Bill stickers is innocent

Everyone needs a play day so my ample spare time today has been spent playing. And why not.

One of my modelling projects is to recreate a model of a seaside bus resplendent in theatre, retailer, cinema and other posters. The Scarborough buses and Brighton trolleys were covered in such advertising so why not Port Appin. Been scouring web sites for suitable advertising from the 1960's and found a few. The Glasgow trams have been the greatest source of references and their prolific use of newspaper posters, - must've been quite a turf war going on in those days.

This is as far as I've gone today. The greatest achievement was recreating the Rothesay Winter Gardens poster. I saw Psycho in 1961 so I guess a cinema advert on a local bus would be appropriate too. Didn't understand what it was about but it still scared the life out of me. I mean, 'matricide' - who on earth would have a crush on a mattress. Stupid plot but a glimpse of ladies underwear to a schoolboy was a big moment.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.