Burnet Moth In Flight

Had fun getting this, haha. I think they move even faster than seagulls.
I sort of chased it, holding the camera out at arm's length and taking a shot whenever I had it approximately within the right distance for where the manual focus was at. Most of the pics contained a black and red blob or no moth at all.

There were -so- many of them! Just dotting the grasses at the edge of the cycle path. Some were still, possibly drying out after being in their coccoons? Or just enjoying the sun, I don't know. And some (like this one) were buzzing busily this way and that. They have an odd flight, more reminiscent of bees than most moths.

Ahhh they're awesome, I love them. :)

More shots on my Flickr:
- Two
- Two + Coccoons

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.