Low water, Derwentwater

Checked the thermometer outside the back door first thing this morning - and in direct sunlight at 8am, it read 42 degrees! (Although it was cooler in the shade).

Woodland was called for, to prevent us from collapsing in the heat, so we took a trip to Manesty woods. On reaching the edge of the Lake, I was amazed to see how low the water level was, and chose this low-level viewpoint to emphasise the arched piece of wood that seemed to be leaping out of the lake.

There were a few ripples that I wanted to smooth out a little, but I felt a big stopper (10 stop ND filter) would give too long an exposure and allow the lily pads to move too much. So with a polarising filter on, and a 0.6 ND grad to control the brightness if the sky against the darkness of the polarised water, I gave a 10-shot multi exposure, which extended the shutter speed to 10 x 1/8th second.

I do confess to lying down in the shade for 5 minutes and dropping off to sleep - I find this weather really tiring, but at least I woke refreshed and have just finished an evenings critique session on the groups pictures.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.