Chiara

By Chiara

Tomato tortillas

Meet Sweetie. She is one of the two dogs I'm petsitting for a month. She really lives up to her name, and she's deaf, just like me!

I must have walked a total of eight miles today: two miles to Whole Foods, two miles back, and approximately four miles to and around a hillside (which the locals call it, but I, a Chicagoan, consider it a mountaintop!) At one point, I decided to take the dogs up to the very top, but that means we had to go off the path and climb all the way up on a narrow dirt path inches away from the edge. One wrong step could send you flying twenty-five feet down to the concrete path and ... splat. I was born deathly afraid of heights, so when we were halfway up to the top, I made the mistake of looking down. My knees started to shake, and I couldn't breathe anymore. The dogs were frolicking up the narrow path -- obviously they're pros at this -- and they looked at me impatiently as I grabbed the nearest plant to steady myself. After a few moments, I gave up and brought the dogs down to the wide path. I could sense their disappointment.

But, yeah, I'm in love with that hillside. It has the best views ever!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.