ztuzzer

By ztuzzer

Scottish Folk

With no shifts at work I found myself with a lot of free time on my hands in June, but rather than waste my days at home I decided to use what little money I had to make a spontaneous trip to Scotland, which wound up being one of my best trips there - ever. The weekend I went up just so coincided with the island of Eigg's annual Ceilidh, which I had missed out on for numerous years prior. The tiny wee Island, of about 80 inhabitants, host this annual ceilidh in celebration of when the locals managed to raise a few million pounds between them to buy the island outright - quite an achievement for such an isolated and small community! The weekend couldn't have been any more scottish, we even had a lass on the bagpipes welcoming us onto the island from the ferry. On the ride over my pal, and resident Edinburgher, Martha and her pa, George, expressed how the scots love a wee drink to celebrate. Well, maybe not wee. I thought this photo summed up the vibe of the ferry journey and Scottish flare of the folk on their way to the Island for the celebrations!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.