Englishman in Bandung

By Vodkaman

Cuckoo wasp

Identification - Family Chrysididae.

I returned to the grove again this morning, to collect plant images as promised and to have another look for the blue fly that has managed to avoid my camera for the last two days.

I found the fly, but once again, it was very elusive and I managed 5 shots that really don't deserve any blip space, but I decided to post one anyway, to give you an idea of what I was hunting for. I still haven't given up, so you can expect more from this creature.

Like many of the bees, wasps, flies and ants, it prefers the creeping foxglove and instead of entering the bell of the bloom to obtain the nectar, it prefers to cut into the base of the flower to reach the sweet food.

As it was flying around, sometimes it appeared blue and other times green. Now that it is on my screen, I can see why - it is actually both colors. I have put the rest of the blurry mess into folio for those interested. Now the hunt for an ID begins. I haven't established that it is actually a fly yet, I must keep an open mind.

After some research, it turns out that the fly is actually a wasp. Still further research to be done, once I get better images.

For the hortiologists amongst you, I have put 5 plants and their leaves in folio. In the last image (plant 5), ignore the seed head, this belongs to the plant that was being climbed.

Dave

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.