Doon the watter

Today's plan was for an early trip to Largs with Mum. First issue was I slept in, so rather than pick mum up at 9 I had to phone at 830 and say I had just got up! So half an hour late starting... The soon after I picked her up we were scooting down the motorway, roof down when suddenly an awful noise of metal scraping along the ground. Difficult position of course; no hard shoulder, barrier to high to get over. So I got out and checked out what had happened. Large piece of metal hanging down below the car and not, as I suspected, a blown tyre and the wheel scraping along. So I nursed it off the motorway and called recovery. It appears to be a heat seal which narrowly missed the fuel line as it punctured the floor of the car... But man with hammer removed it and we got the car home. The good news is the annoying rattle seems to have stopped!

Anyway, took the car home, picked up the other one and on we went to Largs with the rest of the west of Scotland. This is one of the ferries to Cumbrae (since it doesn't actually go to Millport although everyone still calls it the Millport ferry). There are two of them which were in constant motion today dealing with the queues of cars, people and bikes trying to get across.

Another great day, regardless of the car interlude!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.