this luminous life.

By Laura

White Light, White Heat.

The Velvet Underground.

I'm feeling a little lonely tonight. Not even the company of Marlon Brando, Frank Sinatra, Charlton Heston, Katherine Hepburn, Meryl Streep, and Jane Fonda can cheer me up tonight. Some nights they're all I need, but after awhile it isn't enough. There's nothing wrong in asking for a little human interaction once in a while. Or wishing to have the feeling of knowing that many people desire and enjoy your company. It's a little lonely trying to reach out to many people and getting so little back. It's a little lonely knowing people didn't even care to say goodbye. It's a little lonely being a crowd of people--sometimes that's the loneliest. It's a little lonely knowing that some people are just too far away to give a hug right now. Don't worry. I'll cheer up, eventually. After all, aren't we all a little lonely inside? Do I ask for too much? What is it that keeps giving me this feeling? Do I need to have more faith in people? Do I need to keep trying and trying? Am I supposed to sit back and take it as it comes? Or am I just wanting something that doesn't even exist anymore? Am I making sense?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.