r a n d o m l a k e

By gddrew

Called to serve

Or should I say llamada a servir?

In a recent entry I wrote about how young men and women devote two years of their lives to spread the news about the restored gospel of Jesus Christ. Today my oldest daughter received her call to serve and we all gathered around her computer to Skype with her brother and his family. Here this moment is captured as she read her call to serve in the Mexico Puebla South mission. She reports to the Missionary Training Center in Provo, Utah in November, so until that time she and I will be comunicándonos en español. Young women serve for eighteen months so when we bid her farewell in November we won't be seeing her until May of 2015.

Do I feel a little apprehensive about sending my daughter away to a foreign land? Yes, of course, but I trust in the Lord. I also have good friends in our local congregation who are from Puebla, so in a way I feel like she is going to a place where she will be among family.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.