Garden Friend

A couple of days ago I spotted this young blackbird amongst the strawberries. Rather than fly off, he just walked away when I tried to frighten him out of them! I covered the strawberries with a net, and he stood and watched me, with his head on one side, then as soon as my back was turned, slipped in under it where I'd left a gap, next to a clump of chives. There's now a large stone weighing down the edge of the net. They are for human consumption only!

He's been hanging around the front garden today and, while I've been pottering, he's been fossicking about in the border, close enough for me to throw him the odd worm. He comes within reach and seems to have no fear, and strangely enough Ollie and he seem to ignore each other too. Hope he decides to stay . .

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.