Beewriter

By Beewriter

Heron

After all my walking round the Quays yesterday I was tired this morning, but I managed to drag myself out of bed and go for a swim. I was in the water for 7.30am and I practised some crawl. I am getting better at it, but there is a way to go yet.

Jennifer had asked me to take some pics of Barton Swing Bridge for her so we both went down this morning. Sadly we haven't got the glorious sunshine today but I managed to get some shots that are okay. She is going to a wedding on Thursday and the the swing bridge is special to the groom to be. I can't remember why it is so special for him but it will always be a special place for them both from now on....He had arranged with the powers that be for the bridge to be swung just for him so that he could propose on it. He whisked his fiance off for a 'walk' and when they got on the bridge he signalled to the men in charge and they closed the bridge and started to swing it. His fiance was so surprised at it moving with them on and by the fact that she couldn't see any approaching ship she didn't realise at first that he was down on one knee. Jennifer wanted a print of the bridge as part of her present.

It isn't the most exciting bridge to look at and it isn't the easiest to get access to a good spot to take a pic but I managed a few. I had suggested to Jennifer that she tie some balloons on to add a bit of something romantic, which she did. Sadly, Jennifer forgot that we were in bandit country and the second she turned her back on the balloons a man whipped them and was off...the cheeky bugger! I got what we needed though.

Whilst I was taking them I spotted this heron. It flew off...they always fly off in the wrong direction though...and I took a few pics. It isn't brilliant but I quite like the way the wing tips are almost brushing their reflection.

I'm off with Judy now to the Lowry Theatre to see The Music Showcase...free drinks are on offer as we are part of the VIP party. Lovely :))

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.