Rosaleen

By Rosaleen

A new neighbour

It's weird how you can live a few streets away for four years and not really know some of the area. I'm now living in East Pollokshields, rather than the snoot area of Maxwell Park (the flats were double the price so it's a no brainer!). I'm now off Albert Drive, which NellyO here on blip circulated a recent article on it naming it the most ethnically diverse area of Glasgow.

It reminds me a lot of Plumstead where I grew up, which has a high street very similar to Albert Drive and has large Asian communities in the surrounding areas (it used to be entirely Irish I was told by a Professor in Glasgow who did his postdoctoral work on the Irish of Plumstead in the 60s- my parents were among them). Anyway, it seems very friendly, lots of (nice!) children playing outside. I think it'll be a lovely place to live.

Had a sunbathe in Maxwell Park late afternoon, after cleaning the flat I'd left, and then had a wander with my camera. I met Anjali and her family as we were passing each other through the cool of the trees and asked her to pose for a portrait. She had a very beautiful little girl balanced on her hip who I'm afraid I had to crop out as she was terrified of my camera and it showed!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.