The fool on the hill

By mooncoin

Target paractice.

This is probably the worst quality blip I've uploaded. It's a frame taken from a video.
Opposite our house is an old quarry and since springtime it has been home to a family of Peregrines: as far as I can tell two adults and a juvenile. They make a heck of a racket - especially when one of them comes back to the roost with a freshly caught pigeon or some such dangling from its claws. Yesterday I was flying my model and it became target practice for all three of them. They would follow the glider into a vertical dive but had problems keeping up with loops and flick rolls. In the end I pancaked the model through being too cocky. So today, instead of going hang gliding (because I feel shite) I took another model with a video camera attached. I thought they weren't going to appear but one finally turned up with about 20 minutes battery left on the camera. I did take some still shots from the ground but they are all out of focus (not easy to photograph and fly at the same time).
The model is called an Alula which is actually the name given to those little sticky-out bits an the leading edge of the bird's wing. They automatically extend in order to preserve the airflow over a wing at high angles of attack. Nature is so bloody clever - in an unintelligent way.
If you watch the video look out for the little passenger who refuses to leave until the last minute.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.