Catbrook

By Catbrook

Swirly lip-balm filter

Yesterday, when I was attempting to get a good lens flare shot, I remembered that I'd read somewhere that putting a bit of vaseline on your filter (in the area where the sun is) really helps increase the flare.

I thought it highly unlikely that putting grease on a filter would aid lens flare. I also thought it highly unlikely that camera + grease would end up being a good idea. But of course, I had to try, so - not having any vaseline - I put a bit of lip balm on my UV filter. As predicted it turned the sun into a big blotchy mess (I was possibly a bit heavy handed!) but it made the garden look pretty swirly.

Thought I'd have another go today with other subjects in the back garden (lazy-blip day) and discovered that the type of lip balm you use is very important (so maybe vaseline would work for lens flare!). The first type I used did nothing but make the shots look a bit steamed up. The second type did this

..ooooh swirly lip balm, you'd have thought!


(and yes it did wash off very easily with soap and water!)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.