My Year in Pictures

By jenny

Hungry

Can't believe I'm reduced to blipping an empty plate from James's lunch but it will have to do given all that's going on, and as I've never seen anyone hoover up their lunch, let alone a hospital lunch, so quickly it is somewhat applicable to today!

Had about 7 hours sleep last night so felt a whole heap better this morning and a call first thing to the ward told me that James had had a comfortable night, so that was good to hear too.

As I didn't think I could do/hear anything until lunchtime I headed off to the gym to try and take my mind of things - and of course I came back to a message saying the consultant was happy for me to be there for the ward round!

So raced over to Gloucester and met the full team of doctors who are looking after him. All completely lovely, helpful and very reassuring in the way they're dealing with everything.

However despite being told yesterday that he had had a stroke, the stroke consultant isn't 100% sure that's what has happened as there a few anomalies going on.

So James is now facing a barrage of tests to establish exactly what has happened before we can do anything else.

He's already had the chest x-ray and carotid doppler. The MRI, MRA and 24 hour ECG are still to come. And I'm sure I've missed a few out too.

He's doing well in himself though.

His strength on his left side is a wee bit better than yesterday though his co-ordination isn't so good unless he really really concentrates. A bit tired (it was all go all night apparently) and slightly headachy if he sits up for too long, however he's cracking jokes with the nurses and chatting to others on the ward that are able to chat - he is the youngest there by at least 25 years! - Phillip keeps on talking about his 93rd birthday in 10 days time!!! And of course is starving - hence the hoovering of above lunch!

So all positive things and hopefully come tomorrow/Wednesday latest we'll have all the information that we need to have available available.

Meanwhile poor Bill is not surprisingly a bit unsettled with no dad here, his mum disappearing for hours on end and a neighbour popping in every so often to let him out for a wee and to give him cuddles.

Fingers crossed there's more progress tomorrow.

And I can find something a bit better to blip!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.