Tech Marketing Guy

By tmg

Loon

The lake where we often stay is blessed with beautiful clean water and many loons. I love the cries of these regal creatures in the evenings. I have attempted to photograph loons on numerous occasions, but the timid nature of these animals limits prevents you from getting close. If really fill the frame, you need longer lens than 200mm which is the longest in my kit. (Hmmm, maybe I need to add a longer lens to my wish list.)

This shot is unique because this fellow was fearless. I was on a small beach with the little TMGs and this loon decided to check us out. We watched him as he slowly swam towards us and closed to within 15 feet. This shot is cropped, but not as tightly as you might think and I used a 105mm lens.


No PS here

Constructive criticism always welcome

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.