The Life Of Ponty Cyclops

By pontycyclops

All The Small Things #12

As the whole of Blip fills up with photographs of the tele announcing the royal babies arrival I thought I would buck the trend and put a photo of something more interesting up, and this ladybird.

I happened to be looking at the rose bush that has featured in this blip feed several times with the House Sparrows picking aphids off it. The aphids are back under attack now, but this time by their arch-nemisis, the ladybird. They really are voracious predators of the pests. It was only when I really had a good look at the leaves that I realised there were several ladybirds eating aphids on it. What was even more interesting were the black ants that were continually protecting their "herd" and trying to see the ladybirds off.

There was a fascinating life and death struggle going on in macro form just outside my back door. And one no less intense than the Herring Gulls and Common Terns I blipped about a couple of days back.

The last of the baking hot days today apparently. Maybe some thunder and lightening around tomorrow. Now that is something I would love to blip!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.