OMP

By OMP

Damselfly in profile

Today's shot is more about detail and focus than composition, so you may need to go large to get the full effect in this longer format... I was interested in a tight shot of the subject, so you could see all of her intricate parts.

I've certainly posted my share of damselflies... but I do love them and this was the first time that I was able to get one completely perpendicular to the front of my lens. She was playing hard to get at first, then settled in and let me do a bunch shots 7 or 8 inches from her. These were a side view, but nothing special. She would occasionally turn to face me, but alway let me reposition to the side. (I find it so amazing that you can build a trust, of some sort, with an insect.) She only took off when another damsel came near or when the dogs came barreling through the shot on their way to see if we had any invaders at the driveway... Then, surprisingly, she'd come back and land next to me and let me wiggle into position along side of her. For this image, I rested my camera on the ground about a foot from her perch, did a few crazy yoga moves so I could focus through the view finder and blip. :)

My goal was a shot that had her in focus from lovely round eye to the tip of her tail. And with this damselfly so calm, I was able to get what I was after. Sometimes, when I'm able to get this close (for so long), I wonder if it's near the end of it's short life and maybe out of energy. But this gal repeatedly defended her territory while I was there, so I don't think that was it this time around. Maybe she just enjoyed seeing herself in the reflection on my lens?... Who knows, but I'm glad she was so cooperative today.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.