Good Morning, Beautiful!

It's always rewarding to be a cook who prepares food that her guests enjoy and eat up every morsel. Likewise, I enjoy the feeling of satisfaction that I get when I look at this little garden - this tiny spot of color that I have planted with my own two hands and maintained by the sweat of my brow - and I see the hummingbirds feasting there.

Do I live on in their stories? Do they talk among themselves not only about the GirlWithACamera who sits quietly smiling by the garden? But also about the girl who was - with some help, I most humbly admit, for I can only plant it; these hands don't contain the old, old magic to make it grow - the maker of this garden?

Might I be some kind of lesser hero in their stories? Me, the bringer of the big red blooms? I can only hope so; to think that it even might be true brings a smile to my heart. (And if not? I will be happy anyway.)

What I enjoy most about this shot is the look of rapt attention on the face of the hummingbird as it gazes fondly upon that huge, tasty, red monarda bloom. It seems to be saying to the flower: "Good morning, beautiful!"

The song to accompany this scene is Steve Holy's Good Morning, Beautiful. And likewise, I hope every morning is a beautiful morning for you, my friends, full of every kind of awesomeness and more than a little bit of magic . . .

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.