Ow!

Today has not been a good day.

Upper Right Six lost part of it's filling a few months back, but the advice from the dentist was to leave it be until it started playing, which it did a couple of weeks ago. Two week I thought I was going to have it removed, then last week the dentist decided to try removing the old filling and putting a crown on and see how it did. That was supposed to happen today.

Unfortunately once the old filling came out, she was able to see the tooth was split right across - I hadn't felt it because I had root canal on it 17 years ago. So instead of a crown, I had to have the tooth out.

I would describe that tooth extraction as the second most horrible and stressful experience of my life, and it's not even properly done. 3mm of one root wouldn't come out, and the dentist didn't have the tools to get to it, or the drugs. By that time I was getting severe pain from her efforts as she was right up by the sinus where the anaesthetic couldn't reach. It's stable for now, but if I want an implant to replace the tooth I will probably have to have another procedure to have it out. I wince at the mere thought.

I do have a photo of the hole, but frankly it is too digusting to blip. Just imagine a missing molar right inside the centre of this picture...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.