Spoor of the Bookworm

By Bookworm1962

The Downs, homeward bound

Last Tuesdays little adventure on the river took a lot out of me and I've been waiting for it all to subside ready for more. Alas, today came and I was still in a bad way. I nearly called it off for this week but I couldn't face these four walls again tonight, knowing what I was missing. So a hefty dose of morphine and on with the canoe boots and down to Pangbourne.

The drive down to the river centre at Pangbourne was glorious and then another beautiful summer evening on the river. Quieter this week - we didn't have the scouts thrashing about in their kayaks - just our little group of boats. There is something about being in a small boat, low down to the water, all but silently slipping along- it becomes almost an extension of your body, boat and paddle both.

Had to crawl out onto the bank at the end as my legs had gone completely, then lay for ten minutes on the grass till I could stand up.

The drive home was as glorious as the trip down and I pulled over and took a picture of the sunset. A huge red kite soared low, looking for a late snack, and then disappeared into the grass. Swifts and a lonely raven flew over, making their way home . Eventually I set off for home.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.