Old Stirling Jail

I spent this afternoon in Stirling jail.
Not, I hasten to add, for any misdemeanour for Stirling jail is now a heritage site occupied by Creative Stirling and Visit Scotland.

My mission was to check out the basement, where the original cells remain. Until this year this was opened as a tourist attraction. But because of cutbacks in funding it's closed.

Now Creative Stirling hope to turn it into a cultural and heritage venue and their first event, an exhibition of screen-prints will open shortly.

And there is a possibility I can use it for my wolves installation.

The jail brought back vivid memories for me of Craig-y-nos Castle .(See blipfolio). It was a childrens TB sanatorium in the Welsh valleys and I spent many years inside as a child.
The resemblance is uncanny.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.