SomethingAwful

By SomethingAwful

Oh, alright then... one more night!

Somewhere in the build up to graduation I persuaded myself (with Axel's help) that it wouldn't be so bad getting up super early to go to work the next morning, and I could stay in Leam another night. So glad I did.

Woke up earlyish (actually, woke up a lot in the night, maybe it was nerves). Traipsed around Axel's sun-filled apartment taking pictures of the beams of light but in the end my brother said I should blip this one.

Got onto campus in good time, and as my parents weren't there yet I spent a while in the chaplaincy with Sheila, catching up and trying to calm my nerves (and eating some food at her command). Jack even took a detour from his work up at the SU to come and say hi. Then met Cathie and Hanna in the Arts Centre, sticky, sweaty robes and all, and headed in!

The ceremony was actually really nice. Great music from the choir/orchestra groups, and a wonderful speech by Adrian Lester, our ceremony's honourary graduand, that actually made me cry. He spoke about how honoured he was and how our degree isn't just a measure of what's passed: 'if you do nothing in five years' time, this place will feel it'. Very touching.

Stood outside in the boiling hot sun for AGES to get all the photos out the way, and after Mum and Dad left, Francesca and Tim and I (those two cutie pies [pictured above] came to see me after Francesca's family left as her ceremony was in the morning, she even got her gown back so we could get some pictures together) headed to the Economics Department reception, which was... entertaining, to say the least. Free wine ftw!

After hanging about in the Duck for a bit afterwards, we finally decided on a plan for the night, and headed back to the Royal Spa, where I showered and got Axel and Luisa to come down to Francesca's house and have pizza and beers with us.

I think the combination of emotions from the day, and possible sunstroke, as well as a very serious hunger being suddenly quenched by a lot of pizza and a bit of alcohol, made us all (especially Francesca and I, to start with,) a little giddy. We got the giggles as soon as Luisa started making us... by the we went inside and Axel taught Tim and Luisa drunk ball, we were well and truly gone and I honestly don't mean that we were drunk! I don't think I've laughed that much in months.

Eventually Tim and I refused to continue playing because we were losing so badly (sorry, Tim!) and Matt came over and walked with us to Kelseys, where we spent an hour or two before being slowly edged out by some film students.

I don't think these couple of days helped my Warwick withdrawal at all, but I am so glad I spent them here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.