Hon in Edinburgh

By honined

Feeding the lemurs

We spent the whole day at Sewerby Hall in Bridlington. Really well done, and we could easily have spent another day there. We all liked the zoo, gardens, playpark, and walled garden. The kids didn't even complain popping in to see the exhibits inside Sewerby Hall, but it's probably fair to say that learning history is not quite their favourite holiday pastime. I did think the descriptions of servant life was really well done though, especially the popping of the Upstairs Downstairs type of mythology about how well the two differing classes interacted. Sometimes, I think we under-appreciate how much socialogical progress we have made.

This is one of the zoo minders during the lemur's feeding time. I asked her if they used their claws when jumping onto her shoulder, and they apparently know ehich side their bread is buttered on and are very gentle. She also said the females are the dominant sex and would keep food away from the male. Having been on the losing end of many a 'shared coffee and cake' with my wife, I think I am able to empathize.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.