JoppaStrand

By JoppaStrand

Portobello Beach Edinburgh Day 329

This may sound strange but I lost my bearings on the beach this morning so thick was the early Haar. I thought I had reached the Figgate Burn but had only got as far as Bath Street for those who know the area well. The visibility was less than 50 metres and the tide was out and even the groynes seemed lost in the mist. I was surprised to find two swimmers emerge from the murky waves like something out of a low budget horror movie. They were in danger of going for a very long swim if they had become as disorientated as I was this morning! Back on the comparative familiarity of the Prom I stumbled upon a bentwood hall stand. I suspect that this might have waltzed out of one of the sea front bars late last night. I hope it finds its way home when the mist clears. And talking of clearing, the lack of visibility was no bar to the daily beach raking exercise. Full marks to Edinburgh City for their attention to this. The fog was no bar to a metal detecting anoraked man weighed down with a massive backpack no doubt containing all the trove he had already bleeped this misty morning. Less harmoniously, there was a massive canine bust up between two Westies and a larger hound. The Westies went for the bigger dog and had to be kicked away, hard by the other dog's owner. The mist closed in before the owners set about each other. Sometimes it is better to keep on running and stop blipping such fracas. It reminded me of why I don't have any intention of owning a dog - although as a child we had a succession of Westies and they never behaved like this.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.