Mucha Do About Something

What a busy day! Packing in the morning for our holiday. In the afternon, while Kazuko took Valerie and Arthur to the dentist, I went to Osaka to see a small exhibition of Mucha lithographs and Art Nouveau furniture designs. When I came out I enjoyed walking the streets of Osaka and watching some of the 3,000 people carrying portable shrines for the Tenjin Matsuri which takes place today and tomorrow. Here is a link if you are interested in learning more about Tenjin Matsuri.

This was my favourite of the photographs I took because I liked the smiles on the ladies' faces. Bear in mind, this portable shrine is made of solid wood. I've carried one of them around the streets before and take it from me, even with ten or more people carrying it, it's extremely heavy. Add the fact that it was 34 degrees today and you'll have to agree that it takes a special kind of person to laugh through that! Then again, I've just run 10 kilometers in it so perhaps I'm just as bonkers as they are.

The rest of the photographs I took of the Tenjin Matsuri are in my blipfolio here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.