More Burnet Moths

I saw slightly smaller numbers of them today than I did on Friday. It was rather overcast, which perhaps made a difference; they are supposed to prefer hot, sunny days.

The black splodge in the background is another burnet moth partially emerged from his yellow coccoon. I noticed a lot like that, though none of them were moving. I assume they were resting, as it must take more than a few minutes to emerge?

I'd read moths are generally easier to handle than butterflies because they're less flighty and this proved true today. I picked up two or three different ones that were just sitting around on grasses and none of them flew away or otherwise seemed bothered. One of them whirred his wings energetically but I believe that was just to help them dry out from being in the coccoon.

I had one moth on my hand when the wind grew a bit gusty and blew a second one onto my t-shirt! He didn't stop long enough for me to take a picture though.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.