HClaireB

By HClaireB

A life on the ocean wave...

It's back to reality with a bump. I'm still getting my "land legs" back. I would like to be cruising through my photos, but instead I'm tackling a tidal wave of washing...

I wonder why I took this photo today? Something about it must appeal to me. It's part of my "One Street" series, nos. 9-13 Cowcross Street, called Denmark House. It's a late 19th century warehouse that was for many years the Head Office of the Danish Bacon Company (lots of meat businesses clustered around Smithfield meat market). There were bacon smoke-houses in Cowcross Street until the 1980s.

This building was listed before it could be demolished when the whole area was redeveloped in 1994, and it has been converted into a restaurant on the ground floor and four flats above. Whoever lives in this flat has great taste. There is obviously one room that runs behind four of these windows, and all the window ledges are full of wonderful model yachts, as here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.