Sydney

By Sydney

Love, in any language

I went to an Interfaith panel discussion at a local mosque the other night. My youngest is taking Arabic this summer in preparation for her move next month to Jordan for a year to work with Syrian refugees. We were invited to this breaking of the fast of Ramadan by her Arabic professor and I can't tell you the depth of my ignorance of Islamic culture. I was fascinated by the discussion held between representatives of the Jewish faith, Christian faith and the Islamic faith. The focus was on the commonalities between all faiths, revealing what I have long believed, that the liturgical differences are what we fight over. The core beliefs are what's important and they seem highly similar. My viewpoint is naive, no doubt, but I like it so I'm clinging to it!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.