Pictures & Woodwork.

By PeterB

Portsmouth Harbour.(From the A27)

Nice day here today, not quite so hot with some cloud in the sky.
I took this from the very 'top' of the harbour which is literally half a mile's walk from our house. The main A27 road from Portsmouth to Fareham & Southampton runs parallel to the 'top' of the harbour. There are more pleasure craft at this end of the harbour. View of the harbour somewhat small to see!

To the left of the picture, just out of view is Port Solent Marina, in the middle is the Spinnaker Tower at the entrance to the harbour, plus you can see all the harbour cranes etc: and on the right side is Portchester Castle which is about a one mile walk from where I took the picture.

As you can see it is 'High Tide' and I was standing at the water's edge. The depth of water here covers the mud flat when the tide is out. It is not so nice when the tide is out, so I took the chance to take the shot,(or shot's in this case) while the tide was high.

To make the picture a little more than it is, I took 3 vertical shots and stitched them together to make more of a panoramic view. Then I did some 'photo shopping' on the picture, not a lot but a little!

To make sure I got the exposure right I used an ND grad to darken the sky a bit so as not to over expose the sky. I learnt that the sky can be at least a couple of 'stops'
brighter than the foreground. I will now probably be shot down in flames !!!!

Anyway, please enjoy.

Take care.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.