Lowestoft Ness

This isn't quite Britain's most easterly point, but you're getting it because it looks a bit nicer than the concrete promenade which is.

You can see the sea wall in the far distance, and you can't see the Bird's Eye factory immediately to the right. When I was a child, I was taught that these net drying posts could not be knocked down for redevelopment if there was at least one net hung on them. This is the only net I could find, but I suspect the posts have now passed into the realms of 'heritage'; I can't see anyone wanting to build another factory there.

We went to Sparrow's Nest park to have coffee with lovely Malcolm, and Alexander met some princesses in the playground, he told me (I think they were actually going to a wedding). Despite the sky it was still pretty hot, and later on we went to Pets Corner in Oulton Broad, which was frankly a bit rubbish, considering the extortionate price... but hey-ho, Prickly Grandad was paying.

Much later on, my friend Sarah came all the way from Ipswich to meet us for a catch-up, which was lovely :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.