The Love Child Chronicles

By lovechild

The Glen Rock Godfather

I have always loved The Godfather Trilogy. From the very first time reading the original Mario Puzo book, I was hooked. There is such a mystique about organized crime families, and Francis Ford Coppola did an amazing job of recreating life inside the walls of the Corleone Family's compounds.

Yesterday, I wrote about the Mobster Mansion in my town of Glen Rock, New Jersey, U.S.A., and mentioned the rumored failed "hit" on the former owner of the home. Today, I decided to walk back down to Serafin Place and photograph the burned out garage.

Unfortunately, there were 2 dogs roaming around the grounds, so I decided not to risk my life and limbs trespassing in order to get a better shot.

At first, I thought that the contraption at the backside of the wrecked structure of the garage was an old still, but upon further study, realized that it was just an ancient wringer washer. It looks a bit ridiculous standing there, and I cannot believe that one of the local scavengers that drive around in trucks in the middle of the night picking through everyone's junk, have not crept up the driveway and taken it.

Then again, if this place is really haunted by the ghost of the dead Glen Rock Godfather, any trespasser would most likely be scared away.

I have walked past this place at least a thousand times over the years we have lived here, and never once have I ever seen a dog lurking about in the large yard - let alone 2! I got a very eerie feeling today, and visions of the wild dog/jackal scene in The Omen came to mind.

It was just a flash of a memory, but I stayed on the sidewalk and lived to tell the tale and share this wonderfully odd photo with you today.

It makes me wonder if the old man has been watching me...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.