Newcastle Downunder

By jensphotos

Howzat!

I don't suppose I should have used a cricketing term considering we don't seem to have a test team to speak of at the moment. There were three chaps fishing off the Shortland Esplanade this morning. Cloudy and miserable at sunrise which usually makes me turn around and go back to bed but I swung by the beaches on my way to work and it had cleared a little. There are often fisherman fishing from here when the seas are up and today they were very successful. Ted has blipped here before. This fellow's mate told me "There's plenty of fish out there". I am pretty sure this is a Luderick or Black Bream and it was quite sizeable. He took a while to bring it in avoiding the rocks below and snags. Don't you just love his bait holder (an empty milk bottle). The bait is seaweed for these fish.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.