DDW

By DDW

Golden Treasures

Goodness, I seem to be waxing nostalgic this week! It must be due to all the happy emotions surrounding the upcoming wedding, I suppose.

This little gold charm bracelet holds a lot of memories and sentimentality for me. Apart from the puffed heart with the little seed pearl in its center, all the other charms were given to me at different times by my sons. Some celebrate Mother's Day, others a birthday or Christmas. (The heart with the pearl belonged to my Grandmother, and was part of some of her jewelry that I inherited upon her death.)

For some reason years ago, I decided to wear this bracelet while we traveled to Mexico for a holiday. Before we boarded the plane, I decided to take advantage of the earthbound Ladies room, and after washing my hands, realized the paper towel dispenser was empty. So I just shook my hands vigorously in the air, and went on my merry way. Just as we were taxiing for takeoff, I glanced at my wrist and realized with horror that my bracelet was missing. I felt heartsick! I was sure that the clasp must have sprung open while I was shaking my hands dry, and that my lovely memories were now in the possession of someone who'd found it lying on the Ladies room floor.

One of the flight attendants was kind enough to radio the terminal to ask if anyone had turned my bracelet in, but of course no one had. I was extremely cross with myself for being so careless, and very upset that I had lost this treasured memento.

That evening, as I was changing my clothes to go to dinner at our hotel, I heard a faint clink when I dropped the trousers I'd been wearing on the floor. Miracle of miracles! There was my bracelet at the bottom of one of the pockets! I must have shoved my hands in there shortly after shaking them dry, and that was where the clasp had opened. I can't describe how relieved and happy I was to be reunited with this prized possession!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.