How deep is our Pond?

Victoria came to visit again today and although I still have a few problems my back has improved quite a lot (although I am still taking 60mg Morphine each day), so I thought Victoria and I could do something fairly light. The question regarding the water level in our garden, which is currently completely dry has come up many times and no one knew exactly how far below the house the pond was so I decided to show Victoria how to measure the difference. I dug out an old tacheometer and staff, which permits range and height measurements and got her to help me by holding the staff while I measured, having shown her exactly how everything worked. The pond is 2.75 metres lower than the house, so there will be an awful lot of flooding needed before any problems occur, which is most reassuring. Today's blip is of Victoria, standing in the dried up pond, holding the staff and concentrating on trying to keep it vertical, while I measured its height from a point half-way up the garden.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.