Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

The next generation...

A cool morning, perfect for hummingbirds...and for those of us who love watching them. At one point this morning, I counted 10 in my little butterfly garden, which didn't include whoever was on the deck or the side garden.

This is a young male, one of this year's juveniles. When I look at him, I am filled with awe. Weighing in at 0.1-0.2 ounces (2-6 grams) and a whopping 2.8-3.5 inches (7-9 cm) in length, this little guy will undertake a migration of over 1,000 miles, to his wintering grounds in Mexico or Central America. He will migrate by himself, and he will be guided by some internal instinct that scientists don't fully understand. Hopefully he will make it; many don't. If he survives the journey, he'll turn around and fly back next spring, very likely to this same back yard. By then his "five o'clock shadow" will be a dazzling crimson bib, guaranteed to make the ladies swoon. Is it any wonder these tiny creatures have completely stolen my heart?

In other news, the wrens are busy carrying bugs and tasty grubs into the nest box. Well, Madame is doing most of the work while Dad brings in an occasional morsel and then sits and sings about it for at least 10 minutes. I'm sure Madame isn't amused.

And I am not sure, but I think the titmice may have fledged a second brood - if so, it is rather unusual as they only typically raise one brood a season this far north.
Interesting...

I've posted 8 other shots, mostly hummers along with a blue jay and a lovely goldfinch in the sunflowers on Flickr, starting HERE

Oh, and Brunhilda and the spider-tots are doing well.

Off to get some work done ...I'll check in later!

xxoo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.