West Coaster

By WestCoaster

A Beacon

Today was a long day, the weather muggy, close, thundery, ominous... the sun forced her way through and as I walked the city streets chatting with my friend on the phone there was a warmth in the air belying the forecast.

There was nothing worth shooting while I was walking except the young girl with the magenta hair but I couldnt bring myself to shoot the candid shot, she was engrossed in a call, a smile in her eyes and to shoot, even candidly seemed like an intrusion and slowly the moment slipped away and she was lost on the crowd but for the occasional glint of red through the sea of bobbing heads.

I made my way to the car, sat a while, tired from the painkillers not daring to close my eyes for fear sleep would take me and would not get back to the office. As I stepped out the car I could feel the day had changed again, the closeness had returned the sky darkened and within 15 minuts the rain was coming down in stair rods and the thunder followed close behind. The occasional flash in the sky signalled the lightening but in the city obscures any clear view of mother natures pyro show.

Plans for the evenings scuppered by the weather I, so tired I closed my eyes for a power nap and again woke with a jolt just after 9 with no blip... it could only be the river, my mistress, my muse. The light was fading fast, the evenings shorter now every day. I had a playlist running in the car and it shuffled into a song that always makes me yearn to be in some other place, away from the city forever and working with my hands

We'll be leaving this town in the morning
Tommorrow we'll be able to see
I've had me enough of this city
And she's had enough out of me
I'm turning my sights on the country
Sold everything that I own
I'm heading away from the bright lights
Looking for where the wind blows
Say if I climbed to the mountains
Would you still follow me there
Steal me away in an echo
The mountains will always be there


The river was like glass the perch marooned on her sandbar and it provided a beautiful reflection on the water and of today, one of memories to be cherished, special places and loved ones held dear now and always.

Sorry for the late entry, sorry for the return to the lighthouse but today it just seemed right to shoot this for my friend

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.