Life in Sunny Dubai

By GadgetKid

Natural History Museum

Met up with friends from Dubai this morning in the very avant garde Cumberland Hotel in Marble Arch! It's always interesting meeting the same people in a new country. Made our way in no time to the Natural History Museum (request by the teenagers) and I have to say - the visual impact of this building always gets me. A beautiful sunny day never comes amiss for the picture taking either.

We got in and it was packed. Managed to see the dinosaurs - well - walk slowly past some exhibits - no change to really read; then ended up in the Cocoon which was nice - but that's more because it had AIR-CONDITIONING!! Unfortunately, that was all the time we had for the museum. I would have loved to see some other sections, but I'll have to choose a quieter time to return. The NHM has truly amazing exhibits, is large beyond imagination and holds some real treasures, but for me - it is the actual building that truly impresses. Art everywhere - so well done and carefully thought out. Hope it isn't too long before I get to visit. Read more about the building here.

The kids left for a sleepover after lunch, so it was just us three girls for the rest of the day and we enjoyed time in Covent Garden taking in all the atmosphere that London has to offer. Got home very late but very happy too for the great day we'd had AND I can finally let my very concerned blip buddies know that I successfully made it through the phone interview and my "unemployed" status should be changing soon! Woo hoo! :))

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.