misswinterfinch

By misswinterfinch

From the Hedge

Firstly, lesson learned. No matter how inviting the full morning light is shining, it is not the best time to take photos of flowers and foliage. It is too washed out ,mostly. Although it is the time when the bumblebees are all over the coneflowers and liatris stalks... very early or late before sunset works best for foliage and flowers.

Since reading another blipping gardener's blog lately -- sorry I forgot your name-- I discovered "Rosebay willow' right there in my young front hedge. I suspect I weed whacked a few others down because I do not recognize the leaves. However, there Rosebay is blooming right behind the purple-leafed plum bush. As a marsh and bog plant it should feel right at home in the moat a.k.a my landscape garden.
Behind the hedge you can see part of the deck on the front of the house. It is my essential job this summer to get all the wood oil stained to preserve it. It has taken me forever... like all last summer when I was supposed scheduled to stain it, for me to decide on a colour that would make all the wood seem to disappear. There is a lot of it because there is a ramp in front of the original deck makes double layers of spindles and railings. It gives passersby the impression of a fortress in front of a cottage. (btw: Elf #1 built this excellent extension to the first deck and insisted I get it preserved in time. You can meet my dear Elf by flipping back to February of this year for the monumental bathroom renovation.)
Each day I have brushed on some of this nearly perfect shade of semi-transparent oil stain. Exceptionally time consuming but a pleasant job now the the temperature has returned to normal for this area of central NY state. Low humidity and a wake up temperature of 46ºF (7.7ºC). Sunny, breezy it's drying the paint quickly. Because I am a bit disabled and cannot stand, sit or walk too much, work time it limited. But I have until first frost to complete the job. I haven't seen the full effect yet, but thus far the rails and rungs/spindles seem to 'disappear.' Just what I am hoping for.
When I get done I shall record it for posterity here in blip world. I hope before that is surrounded by snow!
Here's hoping your weather has returned to what you know as normal or, if you live in a dreadfully hot place that it is tolerable for you.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.