Hummingbird Dance

The weather these past few days has been just delightful: a bit cooler, less humid; perfect blue-sky summer days. The ones you remember from childhood. The ones you dream of in mid-winter.

So on Thursday afternoon, after my work day was done, I took my camera and strolled around the Arboretum's lily pond and pollinator garden. There are hummingbirds there, and I often hear them chirping and see them whizzing about overhead.

On this particular afternoon, they seemed to be enchanted by some pale pink, bell-shaped blooms. I saw several hummingbirds, green and shiny as jewels, flitting from flower to flower. It almost seemed like they were dancing joyfully among the blooms . . .

The song to accompany this photo of hummingbird bliss is in honor of this perfect summer day, and the flowers, and the blue-blue sky, and especially the little birds and their dance of joy. Lee Ann Womack, I Hope You Dance.

Give the heavens above more than just a passing glance,
And when you get the choice to sit it out or dance,
I hope you dance . . .


Don't sit this one out.

Don't miss it.

Dance!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.